You still have to pay a tip for a cancelled service.

Hi, You were probably had connection issues such as lags, high packet loss. Because usually the tip window pops up instantly after the service window screen disappears. I don't think it's a bug. Plus you can cancle the tip by clicking "close" in the Tip window that way you don't have to give any tip.
I am aware of this being an issue it’s just not a massive issue right now.